CAPIO Announces 2018-2019 Board of Directors

Sacramento, Calif., - The California Association of Public Information Officials (CAPIO), the state’s premier government communications association, named its 2018 – 2019 Board of Directors during the 2018 CAPIO Annual Conference held in Santa Rosa April 11, 2018.


The 2018 - 2020 CAPIO board members elected in March include:

  • Treasurer - Krista Noonan, director of communications, CalSTRS
  • Vice-President, Conference – Tom Christensen, communications specialist, County of San Diego
  • Social Media Chair - Maurice Chaney, public information officer, City of Roseville Environmental Utilities
  • Website Chair – Nicole Coleman, communications and media officer, Sacramento Area Sewer District
  • Education and Development Chair - Rachel McGuire, APR, communications manager, Western Municipal Water District
  • Membership Chair, Southern California – Kathie Martin, public information officer, Santa Clarita Valley Water
  • Southern California Director-at-Large – Erin Morales, lead community outreach specialist, Cucamonga Valley Water District

The 2017 – 19 CAPIO board members continuing their term include:

  • CAPIO President - Christine Brainerd, APR, communications manager, City of Folsom
  • CAPIO President-elect – Amy Williams, assistant to the city manager, City of Sacramento
  • CAPIO Past President – C.L. Lopez, communications officer, County of San Bernardino Human Services
  • Vice-President, Awards – Sarah Macdonald, communications officer, City of San Marcos
  • Communications Chair – Kaylee Weatherly, public information officer, Long Beach Water
  • Membership Chair, Northern California – Jacqui Diaz, project manager, City of San Leandro
  • Northern California Director-at-Large – Elizabeth Emmett, director of communications and community engagement, Napa Valley Unified School District
  • Central California Director-at-Large – Bill Nash, public information officer, County of Ventura – Executive Office

“I'm excited to announce the 2018-2019 Board of Directors who will continue the vision developed last year with our five-year strategic plan," said Christine Brainerd, APR, CAPIO president and communications manager for the City of Folsom.  “Last year we rolled out new programs including increased educational webinars and media tours around the state.  This year the Board looks forward to continuing the momentum with these programs and is developing a plan for increased local events and networking opportunities.”

CAPIO's board members serve two years, with yearly elections for half of the board on a rotating basis. The 2018 – 2020 Board of Directors were voted on by CAPIO members throughout the state and represent the organization’s diverse membership, including board members from state organizations, special districts, school districts, cities and counties.

Share this post:

Comments on "CAPIO Announces 2018-2019 Board of Directors"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment